Lisa Pais won an award with her solution ‘The magic of Pilea’, Lisette Groeneveld won with her idea ‘Fighting food waste’. The creative writing group consisting of Sophie Bergmeijer, Yolande Hobbs, Babra Nalwoga, Jorge Ortega Araiza, Lieke van Rooij, Joëlle Stocker, Dana Zoutman and Roos Arendsen won with their solution ‘The use of poetery to change thinking behavior’. Next to winning a monetary prize, Lisa Pais also received a special coin from the Koninklijk Zeeuwsch Genootschap der Wetenschappen (KZGW).

During the day, the YESC Summit took place at UCR. Here the twelve finalists from 17+ education presented their nominated entries. Together with chairman Peter Melis, an expert panel looked at the possible implementations, the reach and the potential of the nominated entries. There were also inspiring lectures by Prof. Matthijs Schouten, photo journalist Kadir van Lohuizen, award-winning Indian photographer Arko Datto, Chihiro Geuzebroek and Haka instructor René Lettnin had the visitors perform the traditional Haka dance from New Zealand. In parallel, secondary school students debated with each other in the debate competition. The YESC Debate Cup including €100 in prize money went to the Nehalennia high school team.