The Board of Studies is chaired by the Director of Education, and further consists of the four Heads of Department and one student member.

The current Director of Education is dr. Alexei Karas. He holds mandated responsibility (from the Dean, who appoints) for the quality of UCR’s undergraduate program in the Liberal Arts and Sciences. He is advised by the Board of Studies on all matters from policy development and curriculum development, to course staffing, course evaluations, curriculum surveys, the annual educational report, and the preparation of elements of the six yearly accreditation cycle.

Current members are: Dr. Alexei Karas, Prof. Michael Burke (Arts & Humanities), Dr. Snežana Stupar-Rutenfrans (Social Sciences), Frank van der Stappen (Science & Engineering), Susan Brown (Student member), Sophia Secreto (Student member)