The Board of Trustees is the legally required monitoring body of University College Roosevelt. UCR’s Executive Board cannot act without approval by the Board of Trustees on the Strategic Plan, the annual report, and the yearly financial statement and the yearly budget. The Board of Trustees is informed by the Executive Board of the most important developments and state of affairs at UCR. The members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Province of Zeeland and Utrecht University.

Current members:

Dr. Yvonne Kops (Chair) is currently a member of the executive board of Vereniging Ons Middelbaar Onderwijs in the Province of Noord-Brabant. She is a senior governor in education, as financial director and as program manager in education and research, with rich experience in leadership in higher education. She is equally experienced as Commissioner for institutions in the public sector. Dr. Yvonne Kops was appointed as member on January 1, 2022.

Prof. dr. ir. Andrea Ramírez Ramírez is professor of Low Carbon Systems and Technologies at the Department of Engineering Systems and Services and director of the Graduate School of Technology, Policy and Management of TU Delft. In addition, she is Associate Professor at the Copernicus Institute, group Energy and Resources at Utrecht University. Prof. Dr. Ir. Andrea Ramírez Ramírez was appointed as member on September 1, 2019.

Prof. dr. Peter Driessen has been a full professor of Environmental Governance at the Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development since 2004. He is head of the research group Environmental Governance. Driessen is currently – amongst other things – working on finding new governance strategies for climate adaptation in urban and rural areas. Prof. Dr. Peter Driessen was appointed as member on February 1, 2024.

Mike Ackermans is the director of Sichting Omroep Zeeland since August 1, 2022. He was previously a board member of Statistics Netherlands (Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek) and has worked at various media companies in the Netherlands. Mike Ackermans was appointed as a member on April 1, 2024.


The secretary to the Board of Trustees is Ms. Jeanette Gels ( – t. +31 (0) 118 655 550). For questions about the Board of Trustees, please contact Ms. Gels.