The Board of Trustees is the legally required monitoring body of University College Roosevelt. UCR’s Executive Board cannot act without approval by the Board of Trustees on the Strategic Plan, the annual report, and the yearly financial statement and the yearly budget. The Board of Trustees is informed by the Executive Board of the most important developments and state of affairs at UCR. The members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Province of Zeeland and Utrecht University.

The current members are:

Prof. Dr. Rietje van Dam – Mieras is emeritus professor of Sustainable Development and Educational Innovation at Leiden University, UNESCO chair holder ‘Knowledge transfer for sustainable development using ICT’, member of the Board of Trustees of Top Consortium for Knowledge and Innovation Bio-based Economy and was previously vice-rector of Leiden University. Prof. dr. Rietje van Dam – Mieras was appointed as member on March 16, 2012.

Ir. Gerard van Harten (chair) former chairman of the Board of Directors of DOW Benelux BV. Not only is he dedicated to the commercial development of the company itself, he is also focused on improving the prosperity of Zeeland in general, while maintaining a perfect social climate. These past few years, he has also been responsible for the global developments of new companies in other parts of the world. Ir. Gerard van Harten was appointed as member on March 16, 2012.

Prof. Dr. Ir. Andrea Ramírez Ramírez is professor of Low Carbon Systems and Technologies at the Department of Engineering Systems and Services and director of the Graduate School of Technology, Policy and Management of TU Delft. In addition, she is Associate Professor at the Copernicus Institute, group Energy and Resources at Utrecht University. Prof. Dr. Ir. Andrea Ramírez Ramírez was appointed as member on September 1, 2019.

Prof. Dr. Rob van der Vaart has been working at the Faculty of Geosciences and Utrecht University as of 1974, including as professor of Social Geography, Dean of University College Utrecht, Honors Dean and vice-rector for Education. Prof. dr. Rob van der Vaart was appointed as member on January 22, 2018.

The secretary to the Board of Trustees is Ms. Jeanette Gels ( – t. +31 (0) 118 655 550). For questions about the Board of Trustees, please contact Ms. Gels.